The rest of the tests….

November 7th was another long day in Henderson. This time at Steinberg Diagnostics for a MRI with an with out contrast, and a MRI-Spec. The staff there were great. The whole thing only took about an hour and a half. I did ask for a cd-rom of the images, to see for myself, where this tumor is. It took a while to find it,

Tumor
My Tumor

and not being a Neurologist, Neurosurgeon, let alone a doctor, it took a while for me to locate what I “think” is my tumor. It was a complicated process figuring out how to manipulate the three sets of images contained in the cd-rom. There is a viewer that comes on the disc that allows you to view the images many different ways, all the time seemingly linked together so that as you scroll up or down on one image, it changes 2016-11-07-3that image all the while cutting through a different image in a coordinated fashion. As I moved through the one image on top, which is a frontal view, it automatically moved through the second image, which is a top down view, thus showing a sort of 3-D image of the brain and tumor. This is actually an over simplified description of what was going on but it gives you the basic idea of how it worked. It took quite a while to figure out what I was looking at and looking for. Although in the top image the tumor appears on the left side, on the second image, it appears on the right side of my brain. It took a while to finally figure out that the second image is shown with my 2016-11-07-1feet towards you, and my head away from you. Therefore the right side is actually my left side. At first this caused me to dismiss these images, but I could find nothing else that looked remotely like a tumor. The 3rd image shows the tumor from the side view. All told, there were 572 images taken in 3 different MRI studies that day.Many of the images seem to be irrelevant, at least to me. This last image shows the 2016-11-07image viewer and how it interacts with other linked images from the series.But for the tumor, it was a fascinating tour through my brain. It proves wrong all the people that ever said I didn’t have one:) So far, since being put on Keppra 500mg BID(Twice a day), I have been seizure free. There have been two apparent side affects from this new medication. One being that It is making me very tired, although that seems to be getting less and less. The second one though, and its not listed anywhere that I can find, is that, as many men my age have a harder time urinating, now it flows like Niaggra Falls:)

Leave a Reply

